North Carolina Public Record Laws

Citations

N.C. Gen. Stat. Chapter 132, Section 1(b)
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByChapter/Chapter_132.html)

Exemptions to Disclosure

Exceptions to disclosure include:

  • Attorney-client privilege;
  • Proprietary computer code;
  • Trade secrets SSNs

Access Rights

All persons can inspect and examine records at reasonable times and under reasonable supervision. For un-certified copies, the state can charge only the actual cost of copying. No charge for search time.

Destruction of Public Records

“No public official may destroy, sell, loan, or otherwise dispose of any public record, except in accordance with G.S. 121-5 and G.S. 130A-99, without the consent of the Department of Cultural Resources. Whoever unlawfully removes a public record from the office where it is usually kept,or alters, defaces, mutilates or destroys it shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor and upon conviction only fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).”

No person may destroy, sell, loan, or otherwise dispose of any public record without the consent of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources with exception of the register of deeds who may remove from the records and destroy copies of birth/death certificates for people born/dead in counties other than the county that the office of the register is located in, and may do so only after confirming that copies of the certificates are maintained by the State Registrar or North Carolina State Archives.N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 121-5130A-99

Phone: 202-265-7337

962 Wayne Avenue, Suite 610
Silver Spring, MD 20910-4453

Copyright 2001–2022 Public Employees for
Environmental Responsibility

PEER is a 501(c)(3) organization
EIN: 93-1102740